T.G.I.F. Pic Of The Week – My Little Guy (And Why I’m Waiting To Take Him To Disney)

WARNING – this post isn’t totally Disney related – and may partly be an excuse to show off my adorable son…

toddler3toddler2toddler1

Come on – can you blame me? Look at how cute this kid is!

 

Seriously though – I started this blog a few years back, with the purpose of proving how great Walt Disney World is not only for kids, but for adults too. Over the years I have discussed the finer points of adult WDW vacations, and have been lucky enough to take several kid-free trips myself

But – times change, and since having my son, my focus has (understandably) shifted a bit – and he gets mostly all of my attention/time/effort. Which means I haven’t had as much time as I would have liked for writing blog posts, and it also means we haven’t been able to travel to Walt Disney World in quite some time either. Am I sad? Sure – a little – but honestly not that much – because as crazy as toddler life and mom life are – I wouldn’t trade them for anything

I used to think I would take my kid(s) to Walt Disney World just as soon as they figured out who Mickey Mouse was – and well…let’s just say – reality has kicked in, and I have come to the realization that we won’t be headed to the Happiest Place on Earth anytime soon. WHY not? Well – here are just a few reasons

1. MONEY – we are trying to move to a bigger house – as we are quickly outgrowing our “starter home” that we purchased almost 8 years ago now – and we want something bigger that we can really grow into, which means spending several thousand dollars on a Disney vacation isn’t exactly in the cards right now
2. Memories – Let’s be real here – my kid is only two – he will not remember anything from any trip we take right now, no matter how great it is – and that’s just the truth. He might remember some things for a while, but long term – he won’t remember much (if anything) from when he went to Disney at 2 years old
3. Packing Nightmares – we are in the midst of starting to potty train our boy – and any trip right now would just throw that completely off kilter. Which means – we would have to bring diapers. And a stroller. And a Pack n Play for him to sleep in…just. Too. Much. Stuff.
4. Toddler Life – We’ve all heard of the “Terrible Two’s” – and while it’s not all terrible, there are certainly things that toddlers can’t handle – like walking around all day in the hot sun at Disney, or meeting characters 5 times their size, or sitting through a show, or waiting in line, or waiting for ANYTHING – basically, just NO. So much no

There are other reasons why we will be holding off on introducing our son to the magic that is Disney World – but those are for sure the main ones. That all being said, I know plenty of people take toddlers to Disney every day and they have TONS of fun – so if you’re thinking of taking your family (toddler included!) to WDW – don’t let me discourage you! I just know that right now – we have other things to focus on, and want to take him when he is more independent and will be able to really remember it for years to come (we are aiming for taking him when he is 4 or 5 at this point)

Even though life may have changed a LOT once I became a mom, it doesn’t mean I stopped loving Disney – if anything, I love it MORE now – as I get to experience the characters, movies, toys, and fun through my son’s eyes – and there really isn’t anything better than that!

TGIF!

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

