My Son’s Disney Education – The (REALLY) Early Months

My little guy is already going for the Disney toys - apparently we will be playing Disney Yahtzee tonight!

My little guy is already going for the Disney toys – apparently we will be playing Disney Yahtzee tonight!

There are few things I am adamant about, but waiting until my kid is old enough to enjoy a vacation (and not need a stroller!) is one of them – as I cannot fathom toting a stroller/diaper bag/toys/blankets etc around with me at Walt Disney World, so I am opting to wait until he is about 4 to take him to the Happiest Place On Earth (well, almost 4. 3 maybe – depending on how independent he is….). This means I have approximately 3.5 years to make sure he is schooled in all that is the World of Disney. May seem like a long time, but there’s a LOT TO LEARN!

So how do I teach? Well, I have several methods.

MOVIES: This is probably the most important, and one of the easiest ways to teach kids about Disney – is to show them the works of art that Walt himself and his team of animators and Imagineers created. They may not understand much of the story, but they will love the colors, animation, and songs

BOOKS: Reading to your kids is a great habit to get into, and my little guy loves hearing stories and seeing the pictures. Most Disney classic movies are also available in book form, and they are a great way to introduce them to the joys of reading!

SINGING: Some of you may be wary of this one as not everyone has choir perfect voices, but kids generally LOVE being sung to – even if you aren’t always pitch perfect. I like to sing Mary Poppins songs to my boy, and I help him “dance” to them too

TOYS: There are SO MANY Disney toys out there – they have them at almost every store – from the grocery store, to Wal-Mart and Target and drugstores too! Make sure you pay attention to the recommended ages, so that you can be sure your little one is enjoying the right kind of toy. Personally I love stuffed animals, and so does my son – Mickey’s ears and Tigger’s nose make the best chew toys

It’s NEVER too early to teach your kids about Disney – Or at least that’s what I keep telling myself anyway. At this rate he will be more than ready for his first (of what I am sure will be many) Disney World trip!

Categories: Disney Vacation Planning, The World Outside Disney, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “My Son’s Disney Education – The (REALLY) Early Months

  1. Pingback: Disney Themed First Birthday Gift Ideas | Living in a grown up World

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

