Must Have Items For That LONNNGGGGG Road Trip To WDW

ARE WE THERE YET?!

ROadTrip

When I was a kid, we drove to Disney World a BUNCH of times – and I know it’s a huge money saver for families with kids, but the truth of the matter is – its BORING and LONG – especially when you live in Upstate New York and the drive takes TWO DAYS – ugh. I am so grateful that my parents were able to take me to Disney so many times, but I have to admit – I hated the car ride – especially on the way back. These days, many families are opting to hit the road instead of the airport – and for those of you who decide to head to Walt Disney World by car, here are some items you will definitely want to bring along to help make the trip more bearable:

Electronics: Ipads, kindles, tablets, ipods, smartphones, DVD players – they are all amazing inventions that will help provide many hours of entertainment to your passengers. Make sure you pre-load them with stuff they can do offline, like downloaded movies, games, and music. And since all those things can be pretty noisy, remember to bring along a few pairs of headphones too!

*Don’t forget to bring extra batteries/chargers/car adapters too – or else you could wind up with a meltdown on your hands!

Snacks: For some reason, riding in the car makes me SUPER hungry (weird, right?), so I like to make sure I have plenty of snacks on hand. Make sure you get everyone’s favorites, the ones you don’t normally buy them – so that it makes the car ride more ‘special’ for everyone (I would very willingly get in a car for a long road trip if I knew there were plenty of delicious goodies waiting for me…just sayin’!). Try and stick to items that don’t melt easily to avoid a mess in the car! Speaking of messes – I suggest you bring along some baby wipes/wet naps, paper towels, and extra grocery bags for garbage (it accumulates quicker than you might think…)

Drinks: Pack up a cooler before you leave home, and make sure to include a variety of drinks. Water is the most important – bring some water bottles full of ice and water, and then stick a few caffeinated beverages in there too for when you need a quick pick me up. Make sure the cooler is easily accessible – we like to keep ours between the driver and passenger seats (easy cuz we have a van – but the backseat works too – just make sure not to pile anything on top of it!)

Pillows/Blankets: It’s not easy to get comfortable or stretch out for a nap in the car – but bringing along your favorite pillow and blanket can help you pass the time by getting a little shut eye during the trip. Make sure you bring enough for all of your passengers – as no one wants to hear a fight over how “he took my pillow and won’t give it back!”

Road Trip Games: Classic distraction tools that don’t require any fancy technology or an adapter – click here for some great road trip entertainment. Or you can purchase some games, like this Family Road Trip Box Of Questions, or this Travel Scavenger Hunt For Kids game, or you can buy books of word searches and crossword puzzles to bring along. Things you’ve already got at home work too – crayons and coloring books, decks of cards, pads of paper and pens, books & magazines – the possibilities are endless!

While none of these will make a road trip “thrilling” – they will definitely help to pass the time. And the best part is, once you arrive, you’re on vacation at DISNEY – the Happiest Place On Earth!

Categories: Disney Vacation Planning, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Must Have Items For That LONNNGGGGG Road Trip To WDW

  1. I love my Disney drives! But I am way spoiled. The husband drives- leaving at 2am and we arrive by 11am. I love rest stops at night. We bring my Father now on our Disney drives, he navigates while I sleep or read. The pillow/blankie is essential.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

