Times They Are A Changin’…

I am in the home stretch of my first pregnancy – early next month my little guy will be here and nothing will be quite the same ever again! I have many hopes and dreams for him and for our life together as a little family – aside from wanting him to be happy, healthy, and to thrive and grow – I am hoping that he inherets my husband’s curiosity and intellegence, my organizational and planning skills – and if we are being honest, I am kinda hoping he inherits my love of all things Disney too (that being totally secondary to all the other things of course!)

mickeyBar Old

I first visited Walt Disney World when I was 4 – and I do remember parts of it – sitting on my dad’s shoulders, getting Mickey Bars (which looked a bit different back then – plus you could buy them at grocery stores too which we did often!), begging for the Daisy Duck hat with the giant HEAVY plastic brim (her beak, of course!), and most memorably – I recall crying and crying after my dad convinced me it would be fun to ride Space Mountain (it was NOT fun – but luckily I got over it)

I was lucky enough to spend over a dozen family vacations at Disney World with my parents – we made memories that I will always cherish, and I truly hope I can make some similarly amazing memories with my husband and our son in the years to come

Ok, so if we are being honest, there are a few things I am hoping he likes when it comes to Disney:

Rides: He doesn’t have to like them all, but I hope that he will be willing to try all the different kinds – from the thrill rides to the “kiddie” rides – I hope he has an adventurous side and is open to them all!

-Characters: Giant fuzzy creatures coming towards you for a hug can be extremely frightening for a little kid – and many young ones have cried at their first character encounter, even if its with their favorite character who they have been dying to meet. You just never know, but I am hoping my kid will love the hugs and attention even at a young age (I sure did – man did it feel special and awesome to get a hug from Pooh at breakfast!)

Food: Disney does an amazing job catering to those with allergies, food sensitivities, and especially to those picky eaters out there. I don’t think any parent hopes for a picky eater, but hey – it happens, and luckily they can have their fill of chicken nuggets, fries, and mac and cheese at Disney World. Do I hope my son wants to try the sushi and steak and gelato and naan bread? Yes, of COURSE I hope he wants to try something new, but if he doesn’t, we can both eat the chicken nuggets together (as they are pretty good too!)

These are all “nice to have” wishes, but in reality, I just hope he wants to go places with us, and can look back on the memories we made as a family when he grows up

Needless to say, a trip to WDW is not exactly in the cards for us for….a while. Probably 3-4 years at least. But in the meantime, I will have a LOT going on – and something tells me I wont miss it that much compared to the joy ahead of me – like getting to meet the little guy kicking around inside me (you can come out any day now – seriously). I can only hope that my love for Disney will be passed on to my son and that he will get as much joy and pleasure out of it as I have!

Categories: Disney Food, Disney Rides/Attractions, Disney Vacation Planning, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Times They Are A Changin’…

  1. Congratulations on the “coming soon” baby!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

