New Airline Carry-on Size Restrictions Can’t Ruin MY Magical Disney Trip!

Luggage

Between United Airlines enforcing their carry on baggage size limits, and the recent security checkpoint monitoring of luggage sizes, it’s enough to turn the start of any trip into a disaster! New rules even further limit the size of your carry-on luggage on major airlines like Delta, United, and American (with smaller ones being sure to follow suit soon, I’m sure!), and not only that, but they are actually enforcing the size limits too, which is something that was never really consistently done in the past.

Obviously I understand that people can’t be bringing huge bags on as carry ons – as its totally not fair to those of us who have always followed the (previously unenforced) rules – but now you’re telling me that the rolling luggage I have been toting for the past 5 years, that I purposely researched and scoured the internet for to make sure I got one that fit ALL airline size restrictions – is now too big to carry on? Well – ok. Breath, and regroup – I will NOT be letting this ruin my future trips to Walt Disney World – it just means I have to be smarter about how I pack. How will I do this? Well – I have a few tried and true tricks up my sleeve…

Wear the big stuff: I always bring one pair of jeans, one pair of sneakers, and one hoodie to Disney with me – and I always wear them to the airport – even if it’s warm out, chances are good it will be cold in the airports/on the planes, and this saves me a TON of suitcase space!

-If I can get it online, I will WAIT to Buy it: There are so many great Disney souvenirs that I have serious trouble not buying ALL of them – and with even less suitcase space, I will be bringing even less home with me, but the good news is a lot of the same items can be purchased via the Disney Store’s website (they even have a Disney Parks Products section!). So I wait until I am home (or in the airport waiting for my flight home anyway…) and then I order some of the larger souvenir items online instead

-Keep it Casual: Disney isn’t exactly a fancy place, so there’s not much need for dresses or heels or button down shirts- t shirts and shorts will do for most people, and I like to stick to that idea when I am packing – nothing fancy, and just 1 shirt per day (you don’t need more than one, trust me)

-Don’t forget about your “personal item”: in addition to your carry on piece of luggage, each passenger is allowed 1 personal item too – basically anything that will fit under the seat in front of you is allowable – a large purse, tote bag, or even a backpack will all work – and I take full advantage of this and make sure I bring my biggest purse and stuff it full of snacks, books, magazines, and a change of clothes (just in case they make me check my 1 inch too large carry on suitcase…)

I stopped checking luggage a few years ago – so I have really been working on perfecting my carry-on packing – and I can say from experience that it really is possible to get everything you need for a week at Disney in a carry on suitcase and a purse/backpack. As for these new regulations, I say bring it on! I love a challenge, and I will do my best to get everything in my carry-on items, and even if I can’t or they tell me I have to check them – at least the end result is still the same – a vacation at the Happiest Place On Earth! What about you – do you avoid checking luggage when you head to WDW?

Categories: Adult Walt Disney World, Disney Vacation Planning, The World Outside Disney, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

