Planning 101: Packing For Disney

 

Disney-Embossed_Faces

I love all aspects of planning when it comes to my Walt Disney World vacation – from Itinerary making to dining reservations to reading guidebooks and blogs and websites, and I even love PACKING – making a list and checking it twice really makes me feel like I am ready to take on the World (the DISNEY World that is!)

So what are the Top 5 MUST PACK Items on my list?

A Filtered Water Bottle: I bring one of those Brita water bottles with me to Disney – not because I’m someone who will only drink filtered water – but because the water at Disney does NOT taste great – filtering helps make it more palatable, plus I don’t want to pay $3 for a bottled beverage every time I get thirsty (which is pretty much all the time while walking all day in the Florida heat!)

Ziploc Baggies: When they say “Caution, You May Get Wet!” while you’re waiting in line at Splash Mountain – they aren’t kidding! I prepare for this and other “wet” rides by carrying Ziploc baggies in several sizes in my bag that I bring along to the Parks – when getting on a potentially wet ride, I stash my cell phone, wallet, and camera in sealed baggies – it works perfectly! This is also a must because it rains a LOT in Florida – like daily showers in the summer, so you will definitely want to be prepared for that

Ponchos: Like the baggies, they are a must have for the ever-changing Florida weather – I picked up some cheap ones at the dollar store, or nicer ones are available at Target/Wal-Mart. You can buy them in the Parks too, but they are more expensive and not all stores carry them – so I prefer to be prepared and bring my own

Sneakers: Yes, it tends to be warm in Orlando Florida, but does that mean I just toss some flip flops in my suitcase and go? HECK NO! You can’t expect to last all day on your feet in flip flops or regular flat sandals – you will be in a LOT of pain and as dorky as sneakers with socks paired with shorts may sometimes look, packing comfortable walking shoes is an absolute must (trust me, I learned this one the hard way!)

Medications: I always make sure I have all my prescriptions refilled and that I have enough to get through my trip a few weeks before I go, but aside from that, I also like to pack a little “mobile pharmacy” – band-aids and neosporin, Tylenol, Sudafed, cough drops, Airborne, Day-Quil and Ny-Quil, Tums and Pepto Bismol, and Kleenex packs are the main items I always carry with me on vacation – some of these are available at shops within the Disney Parks and Resorts, but they are costly, and they don’t always carry what you need – and getting to a CVS or Walgreen’s off property without a car can be a pain for sure – so be safe and bring these items along with you – you probably won’t need them, but if you do, trust me – you’ll be glad you packed them!

These are the most important items on my packing list – there are obviously other essentials – cash, cell phone charger, extra underwear and socks, snacks, etc – they are all important in helping keep you happy while visiting the Happiest Place On Earth!

Categories: Adult Walt Disney World, Disney Food, Disney Vacation Planning, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

