Spotlight On: The Great Movie Ride

 

If you have been to Disney’s Hollywood Studios in Walt Disney World, then you have probably seen The Great Movie Ride – it is housed in a replica of the famous Hollywood Grauman’s Chinese Theatre, complete with concrete handprints of famous actors out front – including Minnie Mouse, Judy Garland, and Michael Jackson (and many more!). I like to spend time out front seeing whose hands are the same size as mine (my husband and Hulk Hogan have the same size hands which I found amusing!)

The ride itself is a tram that glides through some of Hollywood’s most famous movie scenes – including The Wizard of Oz, Mary Poppins, Alien, Indiana Jones, and Tarzan (to name just a few!). A Cast Member narrates and navigates your journey through the movies, and this really is a great ride – perfect for those of all ages – I loved it when I was a kid, and I think I love it even more now, it has stood the test of time and gotten better with age (and some updates, of course!)

I strongly recommend you take a ride into the movies on The Great Movie Ride the next time you find yourselves at Walt Disney World!

Oh, and as an added incentive – the wait for this is usually short, and it’s indoors which means air conditioning (heavenly on those hot Florida days!)

Categories: Adult Walt Disney World, Disney in Pictures, Disney Rides/Attractions, Hollywood Studios, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Spotlight On: The Great Movie Ride

  1. I LOVE the Great Movie Ride! I remember when it was new, and the lines would snake all the way through the exhibit and out the door – waits could be over an hour. The queue took you by some fantastic movie memorabilia, including the Ruby Slippers – it was almost like going to a Smithsonian. I haven’t seen a long line there in almost 10 years. It seems that when the Sorcerer’s Apprentice hat went up, it took the wind out of the GMR’s sails. It used to be almost like Cinderella Castle or Spaceship Earth – the grand facade that stood at the end of the promenade.

    I also love looking at the handprints outside of “Grauman’s”. Thanks for a great post!

    • I agree I love the movie memorabilia in the queue line!! And the sorcerers hat may cover up this gem, but I think it’s a good thing makes it one of WDWS best kept secrets ha!!

  2. Pingback: T.G.I.F. Pic Of The Week – Adios Sorcerer Hat! | Living in a grown up World

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

