T.G.I.F Pic of the Week: The “Real Pooh” on display


Today is a very special day, it is the release of the new Winnie the Pooh movie in theaters. I don’t know about you, but I cannot wait to see it! Pooh and his friends are super cute and remind us all of a simpler time, when friendship and caring were the only things that mattered. For me, it is more than that, it reminds me of when I was a kid and watched my Winnie the Pooh videos so many times that I wore them out, and it’s about my 3 stuffed Pooh bears, that my parents saved for me and I will someday pass along to my child, and it’s about the Crystal Palace Breakfast Buffet where you walk in and see the Winnie the Pooh topiaries and actually get to meet the characters from the series.

In honor of my ‘hunny’ loving friend and his pals, I did some research on the actual Winnie the Pooh, who lives with the real Tigger, Eeyore, Kanga, and Piglet at The New York Public Library on 42nd St and 5th Ave in New York City (Sadly “Roo” is not on display with his friends, rumored to have been lost in an apple orchard in the 1930’s) . Christopher Robin Milne was a real boy who played with these toys, and one day his father, A.A. Milne, along with some help from artist Ernest H Shephard, decided to turn these characters into a bedtime story. Milne added 2 other imaginary characters to the mix, Owl and Rabbit, and the bunch has been entertaining adults and children alike for over 70 years!

TGIF!
Categories: Disney in Pictures, Disney News, The World Outside Disney | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

