Character Meals – Why Adults Will Love Them Too!

Donald’s Safari Breakfast at Tusker House in Animal Kingdom was great – good food and great characters too!

So what comes to mind when you think “Disney Character Meal?” Probably a loud, crowded room full of screaming kids, and kid cuisine like chicken nuggets and mac and cheese. I am guessing you are not picturing that this is a fun place for adults to enjoy a meal, but as an adult who loves Walt Disney World, I can assure you that Disney Character Meals can be fun for everyone, not just kids!

First of all, to me, the best thing about character meals is the FOOD – many of them are buffets, and others are served family style (meaning the menu is set and brought out to you on platters, and you can have seconds or even thirds of all the yummy dishes!). Breakfast usually includes eggs, meats, baked goods, and the always delicious Mickey Waffles, while you can expect carved meats, amazing sides and delectable desserts at lunch/dinner

My husband enjoying some amazing food and Winnie The Pooh characters at Crystal Palace!

Then there is the location of the various character meals, some are in the Theme Parks, but a lot of them are hosted in the various WDW Resorts – which gives you a chance to check out all the unique and different accomodations Disney has to offer! I like to head over to the Resorts about an hour before my scheduled character meal, so I can have a chance to walk around the Resort grounds, check out the pool and resort gift shop, and take in the atmosphere to see if it’s a place I would eventually like to stay. Or, if it’s a really nice Resort, I take this time to pretend I AM staying there, since some of them are a little too expensive to stay at, but are still great places to eat!

And I don’t care how old you are, getting to meet Mickey or Cinderella or whoever your favorite character was when you were a kid is still magical, I know my parents still love it, and my face still lights up when Minnie comes over and I get to pose with her for a picture. Getting to meet characters, and being in Walt Disney World in general, takes you back to a simpler time, where your favorite characters had adventures involving villains, and where fairy tales came true. It reminds you of how great it was to be a kid, and that, to me, is the best part about getting to go to character meals.

So consider some character meals when you are booking your Advance Dining Reservations for your next Walt Disney World trip, the food, atmosphere, and character meetings make it all worth it!

Categories: Adult Walt Disney World, Animal Kingdom, Disney Dining Plan, Disney Food, Disney Restaurants, Walt Disney World | Tags: , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Character Meals – Why Adults Will Love Them Too!

  1. Totally agree!! You do think character meals will be full of children but as a child free couple we just LOVE to join in the fun! There’s nothing better than getting a hug from Piglet over a buffet breakfast at Crystal Palace 🙂

  2. My husband and I were prepared to wave the characters off to kid-filled tables, but there is something about a big Pooh hug that renders you giddy and gigly and you enjoy it as much as the kids do.

  3. Pingback: T.G.I.F. Pic Of The Week – Character Sightings A-Plenty At WDW « Living in a grown up World

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.